The state of Illinois now has representation regarding the Harmony Way Bridge.

The New Harmony Bridge Authority has finally been established following Illinois Governor J.B. Pritzker appointing three individuals to serve on the authority. The body of Illinois appointees, which also includes an appointment by the White County Board of Commissioners and the Mayor of Phillipstown, Ill., will merge with their Indiana counterpart, the New Harmony and Wabash River Commission to take over ownership of the Harmony Way Bridge.

Michael “Spud” Egbert was the first listed choice of the governor appointees to serve on the authority. For the past 23 years Egbert has served as the treasurer of the White County Bridge Commission, which has assumed ownership of the bridge, and has been heavily involved in all matters pertaining to the New Harmony Bridge, which connects White County to Posey County, Ind at New Harmony.

Ellen Schanzle-Haskins has also been selected for the Bridge Authority. Schanzle-Haskins has a background in law, which includes 44 years as an attorney with 19 of those years as a prosecutor for the U.S. Attorney and the Illinois Attorney General. She was involved in the reconstruction and reopening of the McKinley Bridge and the East St. Louis Martin Luther King Bridge as well as the Stan Musial Veteran’s Memorial Bridge on I-70.

Sara Brown rounds out the appointments from Pritzker. Brown, who resides in Carmi, has served as the manager of the Historic New Harmony program at the University of Southern Indiana for six years, and owns Sarah’s Harmony Way coffee shop in New Harmony.

The last two remaining members are Linda Henning and Clint Spencer, who were selected as appointments of the Village of Phillipstown and White County respectively, back in August.

With the five member seats filled, the bridge authority can get underway with their proposals for the bridge, along with meeting the members of the New Harmony and Wabash River Commission in New Harmony, Ind.