ā€œIā€™d like to thank you for allowing me to serve for almost forty years.ā€

With that quick message to the many who had assembled Monday night, longtime Mayor Joe Bisch stepped away from his seat to make way for Travis Thompson and three new Commissioners to the Council in Donovan Baldwin, Tyler Howell and Chris James.

Thompson stood and took the oath of office from City Attorney Jay Walden, who then administered the oath to returning Commissioner David Jordan and the three newcomers.

Jordan will remain Finance Commissioner, while Baldwin will take over as the Gas Commissioner from Andy Brock, Howell was named Water Commissioner replacing Bob Stroud, and James accepted the position of Street Commissioner in place of Josh Downs.

Also reorganized were committees, with the Mayor serving as the chair of each. The revolving loan committee will continue to consist of Jordan, Sharon Walden, and Jay Walden. Baldwin and Jordan will serve on the Police committee, Park will have Howell and James, Cemetery consists of Baldwin and Howell, and Howell and Baldwin will also serve as the Liquor committee.

JoEllen Seil was retained as the City Clerk and Economic Development coordinator, Sharon Walden as Treasurer/Purchasing Officer, and Roy Mann as Chief of Police.

With the new Council seated and reorganized, new business could be heard. As their first official act, the Council approved the closure of N. Middle Street at the Pavilion on June 22 at the request of Danny Bowland for the model car show. No times were available for how long the closure would last that day.

For the rest of the story, check out this week's Navigator.